Skip navigation

So last Thursday, I decided to actual observe my surrounding. This isn’t the violinist in the metro type story, this is just an ordinary observation. The metro is pretty predictable during the week, you’ll get the usually suspects. People who have just gotten off work and wishing their home already. The high school or junior high school teeny boppers, what a lively obnoxious group of characters the world has produced. Joseph Priestley said it best, Like its politicians and its war, society has the teenagers it deserves.”

I see a few people who are obviously tourists. There is a homeless man panhandling, but who knows, he could be another Richard Leroy Walters in disguise. patiently waiting, it seemed as though the train was never going to come. The lights started to blink on the platform. Everyone’s eyes began to perk up, because the train is now approaching. The conductor says, “Orange line train Vienna.” I board the train along with a mother and her three small children. The children appear to range in age from 9 years old to 12 years old. They are laughing, jumping around, and indulging themselves in their own world. Kids will not only say the darndest things, they will do the darndest things also. They seem to be oblivious to the commuters around them. I notice several commuters rolling their eyes, sighing, and shaking their heads in frustration with the noise the children are making. Their mother appears to be somewhat embarrassed, so she is constantly reminding them to sit down and use their inside voice. Undeterred by their mother’s chastising, they continue to have their fun. Leave it up children to enjoy the simplest things in life at every available moment.

The mother and her children exit at East Falls Church. The little girl must have noticed me watching them play, because she turned to me and waved good-bye. I think to myself, when did I stop enjoying the simple things in life. Was it the first time my heart was broken? Was it the promotion or job I did not get? Was it the loss of a loved one? Does being adult mean we can no longer laugh, jump around, and indulge ourselves? The train is starting to slow. The conductor says, “West Falls Church door open on the left.” Upon exiting the train I decide to take a spin around the pole. There is a lot we can learn from children, if we let go every now and then.

Laughter is chicken soup for the soul. So take too many pictures, laugh too much, and love like you’ve never been hurt; because like the email I received said, every sixty seconds you spend upset is a minute you’ll never get back.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Response Posting « CrazyKid38's Blog on 05 Dec 2009 at 9:01 pm

    […] By crazykid38 I recently read my classmate’s blog posting about her experiences while taking the metro.  It made me think back to when I first moved to the […]

Leave a Reply

