Skip navigation

It’s not TV it’s HBO. And this is not something I would normally blog about but it’s All Hallows Eve. halloween

I was up around 2 in the morning a few nights ago catching up some work and like most people I leave the tv on. Next thing I hear “Pimps Up, Hoes Down … Trick or Treat.” Why HBO, why? Well, apparently this was a documentary or as some would say an entertain-u-mentary, that aired in 2000 as part of the America Undercover series Hookers and Johns. Some how I missed it.

So the premise is an up-close-and-personal look at street prostitution through the eyes of hookers and their “johns.” With footage shot in New York, Newark, Miami and Amsterdam, this adults-only special captures illicit activity that offers compelling insights into the “client side” of the business.

Okay, it was very interesting to say the least and quite disturbing about the world’s oldest profession. I feel bad for the women and disgusted by the men. The women all seem to come from a broken home and see this as a way out. All of them look like they have had a hard life and none of them seem happy. Just check the excerpt from the Reformed Hooker:

I started having sex at the age of 12.
My stepmother was a prostitute.
I never knew my real father.
My real mother died of an overdose shortly after I was born.
I ended up living with my with my aunt till I was 5-years-old. She put me in foster care , and that’s how I ended up with s stepmother. She only wanted me for the welfare money.
My education is mostly street smarts but I did manage to get my GED.
By the age of 15 , I was doing sex for money.
I got Gonorrhea soon after that and took a class on STD’s and prevention from the free clinic in New York City.

Absolutely horrible, so it is beyond me why the authors of Freakonomics Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner suggest being a high-end hooker is big fun, just like being a trophy wife without the marriage in their book Superfreakonomics.

WHAT!!!!!!!!! Those who engage in the act of prostitution feel degraded and less than worthy. According to Popcrunch, even the Godfather, Al Pacino described his days as young male prostitute in his 20s.

“I lived in Sicily by selling the only asset I had – my body,” Pacino told The New York Post Monday. “An older woman traded food and housing in return for sex. I woke mornings not really loving myself.”

Amanda Hess has great retort in her article for the Washington City Paper, the overworked, underpaid sex worker who turns tricks on the street has got deeper systemic problems to deal with. And Sady Doyle of Tiger Beatdown has already laid the groundwork on this -ish in her excellent piece in the Guardian.

So the point is Halloween doesn’t need to be lumped in with prostitution. Each has its own set of problems without outside interference. Therefore, Halloween should be left up to the school-age trick or treaters hyped up on sugar. And prostitution should be left up to the street-walkers working for fifty dollars. And never the two shall meet.

Leave a Reply

